I spent the day accessories shopping for two current Manhattan residences.  Although each home is different, I found myself gravitating towards one common element – the circle.  While at the 2011 Affordable Art fair, I ran across this piece by Peter Monaghan.  The canted dimensional circles create such an interesting sense of depth – I was surprised at the affordability of such an intricate piece.

Here are a few others from Peter’s website:

Peter Monaghan
Peter Monaghan
Peter Monaghan

I love these glass vessels found in Soho today:

Handblown Gase Vases
Perfect, Fluid & slightly Anthropomorphic

And these lacquered wood stumps:

Although I don’t love this light fixture as a pendant, I really love it’s amorphic shape as a table lamp.  The light floats and is very calming.

Fluid Lamp

At ICFF last year, I found the Hug Chair by Gabriella Asztalos.  The chair is almost disappears in elevation, however is extremely inviting when viewing at other angles.

Gabriela Asztalos' Hug Chair
Gabriela Asztalos' Hug Chair

Circles can appear regular in linear form:

Cylindrical Corks

Or opulent when properly integrated architecturally:

The most perfect circle, in my opinion 🙂

My personal favorite circle, a Waffle House waffle.

xoEB

