EBI is currently working on two design/decoration projects which require hand-selected slabs.  One is a kitchen renovation on the Upper West Side, the other a Master Bath in Tribeca. For months I have been searching for an elusive marble that goes by many names.  Some call it Breccia Capraia Verde, others Calacatta Panouzza.  I’ve even heard it referred to as Breccia Carrera.  I love this stone because it’s natural qualities mimic an abstract watercolor; it has a very white field with an almost Klimtian stroke.  Attached are some images I researched on the internet before finally locating a few slabs.  I feel like I have won the lottery!  This stone needs a real name.  Based on all the time/energy I have put into finding it… perhaps we’ll just call it Capraia Elizabeta from now on.

Soundtrack for today’s Post:

6F023A73-2E90-43D4-BC7A-84CBAACF43CF

 

Screen Shot 2012-12-13 at 1.06.28 PM

I love how there is a natural outline in purple/black accententing the colorful streaks.  It’s a nice alternative to Calcatta Gold or Statuary Marbles.

IMG_1188

Note how the designer of this table chose to place the colors on the sides, allowing the pure whiteness to play an equal role in the purity of the piece.  I wish I knew who made this to give credit where credit is due.
Screen Shot 2012-12-13 at 1.06.37 PM

Here is the slab I selected yesterday.  I will focus on this linear pattern, running horiontally on the bias for the kitchen island.  There is just enough pattern to make a sophisticated statement, but will not overwhelm the kitchen by allowing the white to breathe on its own in form.  I will post photos once our construction begins!

IMG_0294



IMG_1233

 

 

 

 

