There comes a time, every year, where this redheaded left handed southerner turns South and just wishes for a moment she could transport herself Home.

The idea of Home is so transfixing.  It’s the Past, the Future, Smells, Memories, Songs, Feelings.  Tonight I’m thinking of my grandparents, of spanish moss, of pulling crab traps we released off the dock the night before.  I think of flowers, of yellow cake, of walking the suspended bridges over our marshlands.  I miss them so much and can’t believe they’ve been gone for over half my life.

At the end of the day, I’m happiest wrapped in a blanket sitting on a porch somewhere. Depending on time of day, perhaps with an iced tea (half and half to you southern readers) or a vodka lemonade. I’m dedicating this post to my grandparents, front porches & the South. Good Night. xoEB

Spanish Moss like in Daphne, Alabama.
Spanish Moss like in Daphne, Alabama.
Can't you hear the crickets?? :)
Can’t you hear the crickets?? 🙂
I could spend all day under this Tree.
I could spend all day under this Tree.
The Great Blue Heron used to lay it's eggs by the pone on our property.  It was a big deal.
The Great Blue Heron used to lay it’s eggs by the pone on our property. It was a big deal.
Early morning on Mobile Bay Alabama
Early morning on Mobile Bay Alabama
You can learn so much about yourself on nighttime walks with your family.
You can learn so much about yourself on nighttime walks with your family.
Simple and Perfect.  Nothing Fancy.  I can still smell her yellow cake!
Simple and Perfect. Nothing Fancy. I can still smell her yellow cake!
Doesn't get simpler than this.
Doesn’t get simpler than this.
